- EPOPé - http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en -

Does screening echography before day 3 for patent ductus arteriosus decrease the hospital mortality in extremely preterm infants ?

20 October 2015

There is currently no consensus for the screening and treatment of patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) in extremely preterm infants. Less pharmacological closure and more supportive management has been observed without evidence to support these changes. In a population-based cohort of extremely preterm infants (EPIPAGE 2), screening echocardiography before day 3 of life was associated with lower in-hospital mortality and likelihood of pulmonary hemorrhage; however this observational study leaves some ambiguity in the interpretation of the results and longer-term evaluation is needed to provide clarity.

 

Abstract

 

Objective: To evaluate the association between screening echocardiography for PDA before day 3 and in-hospital mortality in very preterm newborns.

Method: We compared screened and not screened preterm infants enrolled in a national prospective population-based cohort study including all preterm infants born at less than 29 weeks of gestation and hospitalized in 68 neonatal intensive care units in France from April through December 2011. Two main analyses were performed to adjust for potential selection bias, one using propensity score matching and one using unit preference for early screening echocardiography as an instrumental variable.

The primary outcome was death between day 3 and discharge. The secondary outcomes were major neonatal morbidities: pulmonary hemorrhage, severe bronchopulmonary dysplasia, severe cerebral lesions, and necrotizing enterocolitis.

Results: Among the 1513 preterm infants with data available to determine exposure, 847 were screened for PDA and 666 were not; 605 infants from each group could be paired. Exposed infants were treated for PDA more frequently during their hospitalization (55.1%) than non exposed (43.1%), (Odds Ratio [OR], 1.62; 95% Confidence Interval [CI], 1.31–2.00; Absolute Risk Reduction [ARR] in events per 100 infants, -12.0; 95% CI, -17.3 to -6.7). They had a lower hospital death rate (14.2% versus 18.5% ; OR 0.73 [95% CI, 0.54–0.98]; ARR, 4.3 [95% CI, 0.3 – 8.3]) and a lower rate of pulmonary hemorrhage (5.6% versus 8.9%; OR, 0.60 [95% CI, 0.38–0.95]; ARR, 3.3 [95% CI, 0.4 – 6.3]). No differences in necrotizing enterocolitis, severe bronchopulmonary dysplasia, or severe cerebral lesions rates were observed. In the overall cohort, Instrumental variable analysis yielded an adjusted OR of in-hospital mortality of 0.62 [95% CI, 0.37-1.04].

Conclusion: In this population-based cohort of extremely preterm infants, screening echocardiography before day 3 of life was associated with lower in-hospital mortality and likelihood of pulmonary hemorrhage but not with differences in necrotizing enterocolitis, severe bronchopulmonary dysplasia, or severe cerebral lesions. However, results of the instrumental variable analysis leave some ambiguity in the interpretation, and longer-term evaluation is needed to provide clarity.

To learn more:

Rozé JC, Cambonie G, Marchand-Martin L, Gournay V, Durrmeyer X, Durox M, Storme L, Porcher R, Ancel PY, Hemodynamic EPIPAGE 2 Study Group. Association between early screening for patent ductus arteriosus and in-hospital mortality among extremely preterm infants. JAMA 2015;313:2441-8. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.gate2.inist.fr/pubmed/26103028


Article printed from EPOPé: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en

URL to article: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en/un-depistage-precoce-de-la-persistance-du-canal-arteriel-permet-il-de-reduire-la-mortalite-chez-les-tres-grands-prematures-720

Copyright © 2015 EPOPé. Tous droits réservés

- EPOPé - http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr -

Un dépistage précoce de la persistance du canal artériel permet-il de réduire la mortalité chez les très grands prématurés ?

20 octobre 2015

Il n’y a actuellement aucun consensus au sujet du dépistage et du traitement de la persistance du canal artériel chez les extrêmes prématurés. Des variations de pratiques importantes sont observées selon les équipes allant d’une attitude conservatrice à un dépistage à un stade pré clinique, sans éléments de preuve de l’intérêt de ces variations de pratiques. Les données de la cohorte EPIPAGE 2 en population, au niveau national, suggèrent qu’un dépistage avant J3 pourrait réduire les risques de mortalité et d’hémorragie pulmonaire ; toutefois les méthodes statistiques utilisées pour limiter les effets des biais potentiels, propres à toute étude d’observation, montrent qu’il demeure une incertitude.

Résumé

Objectif : Il n’y a actuellement aucun consensus au sujet du dépistage et du traitement de la persistance du canal artériel. Des variations de pratique importantes sont observées allant d’une attitude conservatrice au dépistage à un stade pré clinique sans élément de preuve pour étayer ces variations. Notre objectif a été d’étudier l’association entre dépistage précoce et mortalité en cours d’hospitalisation.

Méthodes : Nous avons comparé les enfants de moins de 29 semaines dépistés et non dépistés inclus dans la cohorte EPIPAGE 2 ; cette cohorte en population incluait tous les enfants nés entre avril et décembre 2011 et hospitalisés dans 68 services de soins intensifs. Deux analyses ont été réalisées pour prendre en compte les biais de sélection potentiels, une méthode utilisant les scores de propension pour assurer l’appariement de chaque enfant dépisté à un enfant contrôle, l’autre utilisant la politique de dépistage précoce du service comme variable instrumentale.

L’indicateur de résultat principal était la mortalité entre J3 et la sortie d’hospitalisation. Les indicateurs secondaires portaient sur la morbidité sévère (hémorragie pulmonaire, broncho-dysplasie sévère, lésions cérébrales sévères et entérocolite nécrosante).

Résultats : Parmi les 1513 enfants pour lesquels on pouvait savoir s’ils avaient été ou non dépistés précocement, 847 ont été dépistés précocement et 666 ne l’ont pas été. 605 enfants dans chaque groupe ont pu être appariés. Les enfants dépistés ont été plus souvent traités (55,1% vs 43,1%), (Odds Ratio [OR], 1,62; Intervalle de confiance à 95% [CI], 1,31–2,00; Absolute Risk Reduction [ARR] pour 100 enfants, -12,0; 95% CI, -17,3 à -6,7). Les enfants dépistés avaient un taux plus bas de mortalité durant leur hospitalisation (14,2% versus 18,5% ; OR 0,73 [95% CI, 0,54–0,98]; ARR, 4,3 [95% CI, 0,3 – 8,3]) et un taux plus bas d’hémorragie pulmonaire (5,6% versus 8,9%; OR, 0,60 [95% CI, 0,38–0,95]; ARR, 3,3 [95% CI, 0.4 – 6.3]). Aucune différence n’a été observée dans les taux d’entérocolite nécrosante, de dysplasie broncho-pulmonaire sévère, ni de lésions cérébrales sévères. L’analyse fondée sur la variable instrumentale conduisait à un OR pour la mortalité durant l’hospitalisation de 0,62 [95% IC : 0,37-1,04].

Conclusions : Dans cette cohorte nationale en population, le dépistage échographique avant J3 des enfants très grands prématurés était associée à un risque de mortalité et d’hémorragie pulmonaire plus faible. Cependant les résultats de l’analyse utilisant une variable instrumentale conduisent à une incertitude dans l’interprétation ; une évaluation des effets à plus long terme est nécessaire pour clarifier ces résultats.

Pour lire l’étude

Rozé JC, Cambonie G, Marchand-Martin L, Gournay V, Durrmeyer X, Durox M, Storme L, Porcher R, Ancel PY, Hemodynamic EPIPAGE 2 Study Group. Association between early screening for patent ductus arteriosus and in-hospital mortality among extremely preterm infants

JAMA 2015;313:2441-8.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.gate2.inist.fr/pubmed/26103028


Article printed from EPOPé: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr

URL to article: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/un-depistage-precoce-de-la-persistance-du-canal-arteriel-permet-il-de-reduire-la-mortalite-chez-les-tres-grands-prematures-720

Copyright © 2015 EPOPé. Tous droits réservés