- EPOPé - http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en -

Perineum: a better reporting of severe tears and assessment of very restrictive policy of episiotomies

8 June 2016

The rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies have been proposed as indicators of obstetrical quality of care and as indicators of implementation of evidence-based medicine. However there are wide variations in the rates of both indicators in European countries and a negative correlation is observed between these rates. Our results suggest that we need better, more standardised assessment and reporting of severe tears in Europe before these rates can be compared with confidence across countries; we also need an evaluation of very restrictive use of episiotomies by a randomized control trial.

Abstract

Introduction

The use of rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies as indicators of obstetrical quality of care may be limited because of the difficulties in ascertainment of tears and the uncertainties regarding the optimal rate of episiotomies. Our objective was to investigate geographical differences in rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies in European countries and to analyse the association between these two indicators.

Methods

We used aggregate data from national routine statistics available in the Euro-Peristat project. We compared rates of severe (third- and fourth-degree) tears and episiotomies in 2010 by mode of vaginal delivery (N=20 countries), and investigated time trends between 2004 and 2010 (N=9 countries). Ecological associations were assessed with Spearman’s ranked correlations (rho)

Results

In 2010 in all vaginal deliveries, rates of severe tears ranged from 0.1% in Romania to 4.9% in Iceland, and rates of episiotomies from 3.7% in Denmark to 75.0% in Cyprus. A negative correlation between the rates of episiotomies and severe tears was observed in all deliveries (rho=-0.66; p=0.001), instrumental deliveries (rho=-0.67; p=0.002) and non-instrumental deliveries (rho=-0.72; p<0.001). However there was no relation between time trends of these two indicators (rho=0.43; p=0.28).

Conclusions

The large variation in severe tears and the negative association with episiotomies in 2010 show the importance of improving data on tears and evaluating the impact of low episiotomy rates on the perineum. A European protocol for diagnosis and reporting of tears would improve surveillance of maternal morbidity and assessment of the quality of obstetric care.

To learn more

Blondel B, Alexander S, Bjarnadóttir RI, Gissler M, Langhoff Roos J, Novak-Antolič Ž, Prunet C, Zhang WH, Hindori-Mohangoo AD, Zeitlin J. Variations in rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies in 20 European countries: a study based on routine national data in Euro-Peristat Project. [1] Acta Obstet Gynecol Scand (in press)


Article printed from EPOPé: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en

URL to article: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/en/perinee-mieux-diagnostiquer-dechirures-severes-evaluer-pratique-tres-restrictive-de-lepisiotomie-800

URLs in this post:

[1] Variations in rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies in 20 European countries: a study based on routine national data in Euro-Peristat Project.: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26958827

Copyright © 2015 EPOPé. Tous droits réservés

- EPOPé - http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr -

Le périnée: mieux diagnostiquer les déchirures sévères et évaluer la pratique très restrictive de l’épisiotomie

8 juin 2016

Les taux de déchirures sévères du périnée et d’épisiotomies pourraient être utilisés comme indicateurs de qualité des soins obstétricaux et d’application de pratiques fondées sur les preuves. Cependant la très grande variation des taux de ces deux indicateurs entre les pays européens et l’existence d’une corrélation négative entre ces taux suggère le besoin de mieux évaluer l’état du périnée sur l’ensemble des femmes qui accouchent et de rechercher les effets d’une pratique très restrictive de l’épisiotomie par un essai contrôlé randomisé.

 

Résumé

Objectif :

Les taux de déchirures sévères du périnée et d’épisiotomies ont une utilité limitée en tant qu’indicateurs de qualité des soins obstétricaux car l’état du périnée est difficile à évaluer et on ne sait pas quel devrait être le taux optimal d’épisiotomies. Notre objectif a été d’étudier les différences géographiques des taux de déchirures sévères et d’épisiotomies en Europe et d’analyser les associations entre ces deux indicateurs

Méthodes :

Nous avons utilisé des données agrégées issues des statistiques nationales disponibles dans le Projet Euro-Peristat. Nous avons comparé les taux de déchirures du 3ème et 4ème degrés et d’épisiotomies en 2010 parmi les accouchements par voie basse (20 pays) et analysé l’évolution de ces taux entre 2004 et 2010 (9 pays). Des corrélations écologiques ont été réalisées avec des coefficients de corrélation des rangs de Spearman (rho).

Résultats :

En 2010, le taux de déchirures sévères variait de 0,1% en Roumanie à 4,9 % en Islande et le taux d’épisiotomies variait de 3,7 % au Danemark à 75,0 % à Chypre. Une corrélation négative entre les taux d’épisiotomies et de déchirures sévères était observée parmi l’ensemble des accouchements par voie basse (rho=-0.66; p=0.001), parmi les accouchements par voie basse opératoire (rho=-0.67; p=0.002) et parmi ceux par voie basse spontanée (rho=-0.72; p<0.001). Cependant il n’y avait pas de relation entre l’évolution temporelle de ces deux indicateurs (rho=0.43; p=0.28).

Conclusions :

Les grandes variations des taux de déchirures sévères et l’association négative avec les taux d’épisiotomies montre l’importance d’avoir des données de meilleure qualité sur les déchirures et d’évaluer l’impact d’une pratique très restrictive de l’épisiotomie.

 

Pour lire l’étude

Blondel B, Alexander S, Bjarnadóttir RI, Gissler M, Langhoff Roos J, Novak-Antolič Ž, Prunet C, Zhang WH, Hindori-Mohangoo AD, Zeitlin J. Variations in rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies in 20 European countries: a study based on routine national data in Euro-Peristat Project. [1]Acta Obstet Gynecol Scand (in press)


Article printed from EPOPé: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr

URL to article: http://www.xn--epop-inserm-ebb.fr/perinee-mieux-diagnostiquer-dechirures-severes-evaluer-pratique-tres-restrictive-de-lepisiotomie-800

URLs in this post:

[1] Variations in rates of severe perineal tears and episiotomies in 20 European countries: a study based on routine national data in Euro-Peristat Project. : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26958827

Copyright © 2015 EPOPé. Tous droits réservés