EURO-PERISTAT

Our objectives

euro-peristat
The objectives of the EURO-PERISTAT project are to survey and assess the health of mothers and children during the perinatal period – pregnancy, delivery, and post partum – in Europe with reliable, useful, and validated indicators. The project began in 1999 as part of the EU’s Health Monitoring Program and has now reached its fourth phase; it seeks to produce perinatal health data routinely throughout Europe.

Our work

We developed a list of perinatal health indicators, updated regularly to take into account changes in both the data needed and the production of statistics in each country. It covers four principal themes: i) fetal and newborn health, ii) women’s health, iii) population characteristics and risk factors, and iv) medical practices and health-care facilities.

We have compiled the statistics produced by each country for their births in 2000, 2004, and 2010 and published two reports that include all of the statistics collected for the indicators chosen, one for births in 2004 and the other for births in 2010. Detailed data are available for these indicators, both crude and according to characteristics associated with each (for example, neonatal mortality rate according to weight, gestational age, and number of fetuses).

Organization

This project is coordinated by the EPOPé team and includes representatives of 26 European Union Member States, as well as Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.

To learn more

Consult the EURO-PERISTAT site, and in particular:

The report on births in 2010 (pdf document)
The list of detailed indicators
The publications based on these data

The situation in France compared with the other European countries:

Blondel B, Zeitlin J.
La santé périnatale en France : une position moyenne en Europe, mais quelques différences préoccupantes.
J Gyn Obstet Biol Reprod 2013;42 :609-612 (éditorial) (free).

EURO-PERISTAT

Nos objectifs

euro-peristatLe projet EURO-PERISTAT a pour objectifs de suivre et évaluer la santé des mères et des enfants pendant la période périnatale – grossesse, accouchement et post-partum – en Europe, en utilisant des indicateurs valides et fiables. Le projet a commencé en 1999 dans le cadre du EU’s Health Monitoring Programme et atteint actuellement sa quatrième phase, en recherchant à produire en routine des données sur la santé périnatale en Europe.

Nos travaux

Nous avons mis au point une liste d’indicateurs de santé périnatale qui est remise à jour régulièrement pour tenir compte de l’évolution des besoins de données et des changements dans la production des statistiques dans chaque pays. Elle comprend quatre grands thèmes : i) la santé des fœtus et des nouveau-nés, ii) la santé des femmes, iii) les caractéristiques et facteurs de risque de la population, et iv) les pratiques médicales et les services de santé.

Nous avons compilé les statistiques produites par chaque pays pour les naissances de 2000, 2004 et 2010. Deux rapports réunissant toutes les statistiques sur les indicateurs retenus ont été publiés, l’un sur les naissances de 2004 et l’autre sur les naissances de 2010. Des données détaillées sont disponibles sur les indicateurs bruts et selon des caractéristiques associées à chaque indicateur, par exemple le taux de mortalité néonatale suivant le poids, l’âge gestationnel et le nombre de fœtus.

L’organisation

Le projet est coordonné par l’équipe EPOPé et comprend des représentants de 26 pays de l’Union européenne, ainsi que l’Islande, la Norvège et la Suède.

Pour en savoir plus

Consulter le site EURO-PERISTAT, et en particulier :

Le rapport sur les naissances en 2010 (document pdf, anglais)
La liste des indicateurs détaillés
Les publications issues de ces données

La situation de la France par rapport aux autres pays européens

Blondel B, Zeitlin J.
La santé périnatale en France : une position moyenne en Europe, mais quelques différences préoccupantes.
J Gyn Obstet Biol Reprod 2013;42 :609-612 (éditorial) (accès gratuit).